Toastmaster of the day

I was assigned to be the Toastmaster of the Day for the first meeting of 2016 on 9th January.  I enjoyed the experience and did not experience much stage fright that day.  Below is the script I used for my maiden session as Toastmaster of the Day.

★Introduction

Good afternoon, everyone.

Let’s stand up and kick off today’s meeting with reciting Kampong Ubi Toastmasters Club mission.

Please be seated, thank you.

Fellow Toastmasters, visiting Toastmasters and guests.

Happy new year and welcome to the first meeting of 2016.  This is our 207th chapter meeting.

Michelle, our Vice President Education has been sending us whatsapp messages in the past week, updating us on the speakers and appointment holders.

Because I haven’t written out the script for my speech and seeing that the positions for timer and ah counter had yet been taken up, I offered to help keep track of the time or to take note of the pause-fillers.

But Michelle suggested instead that I be the Toastmaster of the Day.

“I can’t be ah counter or timer forever, can I?”, I asked Michelle.

Though I feel I am too green for the appointment, I decided to give it a shot.

I googled Toastmaster of the Day and a post said one should be a TMD only after having served as a Table Topics master.

Jamie, Table Topics master for today, you may consider taking up the role of TMD for the next meeting.

I wanted to decline Michelle’s invitation after reading the post but changed my mind.

I thought I shouldn’t be restricted by convention or practice. So here I am,  taking on a new endeavour as a TMD.

What about you, what new beginnings have you got for the new year?

But first let’s hear from Michelle in her opening address on today’s theme “new year new beginning” .

★Speeches

We have got 6 Toastmasters delivering prepared speeches.  Each has 5-7 minutes to speak.

■Timer

Today’s timer Steven would flash at the 5th minute flash the green card, 6th minute the yellow card, the 7th minute the red card followed by a buzz at 7.5 minutes.

■Ah counter

Joyce is our Ah counter [Explain the duty of ah counter]

I would like to introduce our first speaker,  Edwin.  Edwin stayed and worked in HK for 5 years and he’s comparing Pearl of the Orient and the Lion City in HK vs Singapore for project 2 speech.

Leave a Reply

