International Toastmasters

I don’t know about other Toastmasters Club but Kampong Ubi Toastmasters Club is truly an international one, where nationality of its members is concerned.

I learned on last Saturday that our members are from at least eight nations: Singapore, UK, Australia, the Philippines, China, Japan, Malaysia and Nepal.  It’s amazing, isn’t it?  It was during a game that l noticed this group has pretty diverse members in terms of nationality.  This is a United Nations Toastmasters Club.  This perhaps is a result of how the club was started – as a part of Kowloon Club, which was formed by migrants from Hong Kong.

I didn’t deliver any speech as I had not been feeling well.  In fact, I have been coughing for two weeks and had seen the doctor twice. Furthermore, the air conditioning in the meeting room blasting  down triggered a headache in me.

When the session was over, president of the club Jun walked over to find out when I was going to make my maiden prepared speech pursuant to Project 1 The Ice Breaker.  I should have told him I had been nursing a flu and cough but it slipped my mind.  Anyway I have committed to embark on Project 1 at the session after the next.

Leave a Reply

